SSG College Football Conference Preview

The SSG College Football league, using Wolverine Studios Draft Day Sports: College Football 2020, kicks off with the coach hiring phase in February. It has real teams but fictional players and in order to give these fictional players a history the league actually began play with the 2014 season and quick-simmed five years of history to bring us to the start of the 2019 season which will played as a kind of a trial run through over the first 6 months of the year before the 2020 season starts, as it does in real life, in the late summer. To get you up to speed on how the college football landscape evolved over the past five years in the SSG world here is the first in a series of recaps looking at each conference. First up the SSG Atlantic Coast Conference. Unlike in real life where Clemson has dominated the ACC, in the SSG ACC it has been a much more balanced league. The only two-time Conference Champion over the past five seasons has been the SSG Florida State Seminoles, who won the ACC Championship Game in 2014 and again last season (2018). Louisville, Virginia Tech and Clemson each claimed a single title during that span. The SSG Clemson Tigers are the only ACC team to win the National Championship, which they accomplished in 2014 despite not making the ACC title game. That was the year Florida State and Clemson both qualified for the National Playoff. The fourth seeded Tigers knocked off Baylor in the semi-final game begofe beating SSG LSU in the title contest that year. Florida State had fallen to LSU in the other semi-final. The following season the SSG Louisville Cardinals reached the National Championship game after beating Oklahoma in the semi-finals, only to lose 45-38 to an unbeaten UCF. The ACC missed out on the playoff in 2016 but in 2017 Clemson was back following a win over Georgia Tech in the ACC championship game. The Tigers were eliminated by Baylor 24-22 in the semi-final that year. Last season Florida State qualified for the playoff for a second time but just as they did in 2014, the 2018 Seminoles were eliminated in the semi-finals, falling 38-27 to eventual National Champion SSG Ohio State. Here are the results from the five ACC Championship Games held during the SSG period as well as the cumulative conference standings (including title game results) for the 14 SSG ACC schools. Next up:  We look back at the past five years in the SSG Big 12.